Listed in: CDs

Sundog is the new project from Arthur Jeffes of Penguin Cafe, which comes under the umbrella of the Penguin Cafe Label.

Insofar... is Sundog's debut album, release date 1st October 2012.

Track list:

1. Light On Stone
2. 4LB
3. For You, When It Rains...
4. Boso I
5. Boso II
6. The Heart Waits...
7. Shadows In Water
8. Parise (Song For Wayland)
9. Machell
10. Je Crois...
11. Things Fall Apart...
12. A Simple Loss
13. Perc’y
14. Both Hands In Pockets

All tracks composed by Arthur Jeffes and Oli Langford except 1,3, 11, 12, 14 composed by Arthur Jeffes

Arthur Jeffes - Piano, Dulcitone (2,11), Harmonium (6,11), Rhodes (5, 11)
Oli Langford - Violin, Ring Mod (4,5)
Jamie Orchard Lisle - Fender Sidekick 60/Rock (14)

Produced by Arthur Jeffes and Jamie Orchard-Lisle at Hippodrome Place Studios, 2011/2012. Recorded on location at Hippodrome Place, Wood Green and LA.

Special thanks to DPA Microphones,
Artwork by Tom @ Republique, Paris
p & c Editions Penguin Cafe 2012

For this album we wanted to set up some simple rules for ourselves and then see how imaginative and creative we could be within that system. We started with the idea that we would only use sounds we could get from our instruments - piano, violin, duclcitone, Rhodes and harmonium - but we wouldn’t stay on the chamber footing that would seem to dictate. We’d use the tools of the studio to enhance, suppress, fiddle and in all kinds of ways get original sounds out of the gear we were using. Obviously sometimes the tracks have ended up simply being pieces for piano and violin, but others have proved more odd.