Preludes Airs and Yodels


Listed in: CDs

Virgin - 1996

An excellent compilation of the very best of the PCO drawn from all the previous records.

It also contains three versions of the classic 'Music for a Found Harmonium' - the PCO original, a storming version by Patrick Street and a remix called 'Pandaharmonium' by The Orb.

It also contains a rarity: a short piece called 'Piano Music' which has only appeared on 'The Penguin Café Orchestra Mini-Album', a 26 minute long 'interim' album released in Japan in 1983 and featuring four tracks from previous albums and two unreleased pieces.

Simon's description of this record as a 'primer' is very appropriate.

Catalogue no: AMBT 15 / 7243 8 42015 2 4

1. Music for a found harmonium
2. Perpetuum mobile
3. Penguin cafe single
4. Air
5. Telephone and rubber band
6. Dirt
7. Giles Farnaby's dream
8. Oscar Tango
9. Rosasolis
10. Air a danser
11. Music for a found harmonium
12. Yodel 3
13. White mischief
14. Prelude and yodel
15. Harmonic necklace
16. Steady state
17. Nothing really blue
18. Pandaharmonium
19. Piano music

also available on iTunes: